May Contain Nuts

I cook clean yell at kids work clean repeat & I AM ALL ABOUT EFFICIENCY

Coconut Soup to Prolong Your Milk Supply

During the time that my daughter was in NICU, I wasn’t able to breastfeed – only pumping and tube feeding her.  After 2 months or so, my milk supply has gone down even when I was pumping often.  However, it’s not the same as nursing and my body’s not easily fooled into producing more milk.

I’ve been following my mom’s advice on how to prolong and increase my milk supply.  It worked but it’s starting to feel forced when I have to drink soup everyday to get my supply up. So I mix the soups up with other milk making soups like papaya and fish soup, cognac and black silkie chicken soup.

According to Chinese traditions, here are the foods that help increase the milk supply: coconut, black silkie chicken, papaya, fish and drinking lots of fluid.   There are a lot more foods that fall in this category but the ones mentioned are the more common foods you may already have in your kitchen.  Black beans does the opposite, it dries up your milk supply.

One of the soups I’ve been making is a really simple coconut chicken soup that helped maintain the milk supply.

Ingredients:

  • coconut meat from one small coconut (toss the water or use it for something else)
  • a couple of pieces of meaty chicken
  • figs (I used the figs from costco since I don’t have the chinese dried dates, works just as well as sweetener)
  • a couple of red dates for about 8 litres of water.

milk1

I blanche the meat first before throwing it into the soup water because I want to get all the fat and the blood out first.  I blanche it for about 5 minutes so that I don’t lose the flavour of the meat and then remove the meat from the water.

Then I toss everything into a big pot and boil it.  Once it’s boiled, I turn down the heat and let it simmer for a few hours.  That’s how most of my chinese soups are done.  I simmer the heck out of it.  When it’s ready, you should have about 4-5 litres left.  Don’t worry if it’s less, it’s just more concentrated.  You can add salt when you are ready to drink but it’s not neccessary to add sugar as the figs and dates will provide ample sweetness.

You can toss all the ingredients away as the chicken and the figs will be tasteless.  I like to keep the coconut meat and nibble on it.  It’s a great soup to replenish your liquids and increase your milk supply.

4 comments on “Coconut Soup to Prolong Your Milk Supply

  1. Shelli@howsitgoingeh?
    January 7, 2014

    Has it been working?

  2. thepumpingmama
    January 16, 2014

    Perhaps something to try 🙂

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

