May Contain Nuts

I cook clean yell at kids work clean repeat & I AM ALL ABOUT EFFICIENCY

Pancetta is the New Bacon (and a Way of Getting Kids to Eat Brussel Sprouts)

This is what happens when you tell Patch ‘I don’t want bacon on everything‘.  Instead, he uses panchetta.  That’s his new bacon. Bacon is the answer to all of his life’s problems but the start of his heart problems (case in point – his other bacon obsession here).  And he plans to make his own panchetta this summer (correction:  he will make his own PORCHETTA, not panchetta).

I picked brussel sprouts because it’s one of my favourite vegetables but it’s rarely made at home.  I’ve always love brussel sprouts even as a child, though a lot of kids hated it… especially my non-asian friends.  It’s like white kids are born hating vegetables.  If they had chinese parents, they would starve because if they don’t eat their veggies, then that’s it, chinese parents are not going to shrug and make something else.   Although I don’t know of any white parents that go as far as to making something else if their kids don’t like what’s being served, maybe the same type of parents that would put a huge trampoline in the backyard.

Glazed Brussels Sprouts with Panchetta

These are very easy to make.  This is also inspired from a recipe from Gordon Ramsay’s book but categorized as a warm salad and with chestnuts.  I don’t like chestnuts.  Nuts shouldn’t be soft and starchy (or sweaty haha).  Nuts should be hard and crunchy.  I like hard nuts! Chestnuts are wannabee nuts.

Ingredients:

  • brussel sprouts – Look for sprouts that are firm, bright green in colour and holeless leaves.
  • 4 slices of chopped pancetta
  • olive oil
  • butter

* Store bought panchetta is not ready to eat. It is a type of bacon (salt cured pork belly to be exact) and needs to be fully cooked before consuming.

1
2
3

Blanch the sprouts in salted water for 7-8 minutes. They should be tender with a slight crunch but not soggy. Drain, soak in iced water until it’s cool, and drain again. Pan fry the panchetta in oil and butter until brown and crisp and add the blanched sprouts with more butter. Stir fry until the sprouts are evenly warm and season with black pepper before serving.

4

One comment on “Pancetta is the New Bacon (and a Way of Getting Kids to Eat Brussel Sprouts)

  1. Shelli@howsitgoingeh?
    December 15, 2013

    That’s so funny — I’m making brussels sprouts tonight! And totally true, if I didn’t eat my vegetables when I was little – tough tutus I was going to bed hungry. I’ve recently encountered a lot of kids lately that don’t finish what’s on their plate + then they STILL get dessert! What’s up with that???!!!! Hell no.

Leave a Reply

