May Contain Nuts

I cook clean yell at kids work clean repeat & I AM ALL ABOUT EFFICIENCY

Japchae Inspired Potato Noodles Dish

I love eating Japchae but I know that it’s not that easy to make.  Japchae is made with sweet potato noodles, also known as glass noodles.  The texture is chewy and not starchy.  Cooking the noodles can be a bit delicate as it absorbs a lot of liquid.  There are different variations of this dish online and when I found an authentic Korean recipe, I didn’t have all the ingredients and spices.  As you may already know my style, I tend to keep things simple and rely on salt and pepper.  This is my version of Japchae but I assure you that it’s just as delicious! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • a package of japchae noodles (I used half a package)
  • Meat – chicken or beef
  • chinese mushrooms – soaked overnight
  • sliced onions
  • chopped green onions
  • chopped garlic
  • a can of chicken stock
  • sesame oil
  • soy sauce (to taste)
  • black pepper
  • dash of mirin

You can find sweet potato noodles in any Korean markets (H-mart, Assi store) or asian grocers or even Superstore.  I tried to look for noodles that were not made in China but I could not find any, even if they are packaged under a Korean brand.  I was a bit hesitant as I’m not sure what it means if it’s made in China.  Is it made with cardboard? Dead rats? Anyway, let’s forget about that and just cook with what we have.

Soak the noodles for about an hour so that it softens and expands.  The more it expands means the more liquid it will contain and soak up less of your seasonings  – preferable method.  Drain, rinse and set aside.

Pan fry sliced chinese mushrooms with garlic and chicken in oil and mirin.   Add sliced onions last.

When onions are halfway done, add the noodles to the mixture and half a can of chicken stock.  Glass noodles have no taste on its own so it relies on the seasoning.  You don’t want to overpower your dish by using too much soy sauce or sesame oil.  Once the noodles are fully cooked, add soy sauce and sesame oil.  This is a dish that uses quite a bit of sesame oil and you will need to taste test it while you are cooking as it will get absorbed quickly.   Plate once the noodle is plump and fully cooked.  You can garnish with sesame seeds.

12 comments on “Japchae Inspired Potato Noodles Dish

  1. deliciousdaydreams
    November 15, 2013

    I just love each and every ingredient in this dish. And I can’t get enough of glass noodles. I have a wonderful Asian grocer nearby, amd what I don’t currently have on hand, I can get there. Thanks for posting this delicious dish!

    • drunk ninja
      November 15, 2013

      if you like glass noodles, give bean thread noodles a try , it’s a thinner version of glass noodles like a clear vermicelli.

      • deliciousdaydreams
        November 15, 2013

        Yes! I love all mushrooms. And I’ve had bean thread noodles. They’re slimy and fun to eat!

    • drunk ninja
      November 15, 2013

      you loving every ingredient in this dish…. does that include chinese mushrooms?

  2. LFFL
    November 15, 2013

    I love the clear noodles even tho they look like worms.

    • drunk ninja
      November 15, 2013

      you should really try it if you like noodles that are more of the chewy texture. I hate soggy or starchy noodles so this is perfect.

  3. vanessacrossett
    November 15, 2013

    I love japchae! I will have to try this!

  4. Shelli@howsitgoingeh?
    November 16, 2013

    Japchae!!!! Mmmmm!!!! Hey do you have a fave Korean restaurant you recommend in Vancouver??? I’m dying for a Korean meal!

    • drunk ninja
      November 17, 2013

      I usually like going to the korean restaurants in the northroad-lougheed area… tons of koreans. My fave restaurants are InsaDong which is in a complex by the hotel on North and Lougheed. Then we are regulars of this family run korean restaurant on Kingsway near Fraser. It’s so Korean there’s no english name for it. But look up where Dai Tung Chinese restaurant is, and it’s RIGHT ACROSS from it.

      Another favourite of mine but not really family friendly restaurant but it’s on Robson close to Denman, called Zabu chicken. Great drinking hole too.

      • Shelli@howsitgoingeh?
        November 19, 2013

        Oooooh, thanks so much I’m off to google them!!! I need some banchan + sundubu jjigae!!!

Leave a Reply

