May Contain Nuts

I cook clean yell at kids work clean repeat & I AM ALL ABOUT EFFICIENCY

Steamed Frozen Fish (Fresh Style)

I love steamed fresh fish.  But I usually order it from a chinese restaurant because they de-bone it before serving.  There’s something about picking up a fresh fish from the fish shop and prepping it that kinda grosses me out.  Could be dealing with the scaly skin… I realized that I don’t actually enjoy fish THAT much, because I don’t like overcooked fish (rubbery) and I don’t like steak-like fish.  I like them flakey like black cod (check out this recipe if you like black cod) or sablefish.

Anyway, the reason why I like fish dishes is because of the green onions loaded on top.  There is usually ginger too but since I don’t like ginger, I replaced it with garlic in this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • frozen thawed or fresh fish (I used frozen tilapia here)
  • a bulb of garlic
  • 2 stalks of green onions (slivered)
  • cilantro (optional)
  • soy sauce
  • sugar
  • cooked oil

IMG_2436

IMG_2437

IMG_2448

Put minced garlic and slivered green onions aside.  Heat up a wok with a leveler (if you have pot with a wide enough steamer on top, that works too) until the water is boiling (leave water about an inch below the plate).

Place clean fish on a shallow plate and load the garlic and green onions on top.  Drizzle it with soy sauce (mixed with sugar to taste) on it.  Do not add water as the plate will catch the water condensation from the steaming.  Steam for 10 – 15mins depending on the thickness of the fish.  Becareful not to overcook as it will cause the fish to taste rubbery.

Once it is cooked, drizzle the fish with cooked oil (if you don’t have this, heat up vegetable or canola oil with a piece of ginger or garlic until it is boiling – discard ginger and garlic) and serve.  The cooked oil makes a difference in its fragrance.

IMG_2447

 

 

7 comments on “Steamed Frozen Fish (Fresh Style)

  1. Mary Strong-Spaid
    October 27, 2013

    I am usually not that good at cooking fish.
    But I have been pretty successful with Tilapia.
    I think I will try this … with fingers crossed.

    • drunk ninja
      October 27, 2013

      good luck! perhaps you can share your tilapia recipes some day! 😉

  2. Sam Han
    November 9, 2013

    steam fish is something so delicate yet robust if done well. i haven’t cooked for a long time now, since moving back to Sg (no proper cooking utensils here and children seldom eat at home). I miss the days cooking in Melb. seeing your recipes kinda take me on a trip down memory lane. 😀

    • drunk ninja
      November 13, 2013

      you mean you haven’t bought cooking utensils since your move back or you mean there isn’t much selection in SG?

      • Sam Han
        November 13, 2013

        there is, but girls working now and come home around 10pm (early) or after midnight. they seldom eat at home so no point cooking. that is why my home recipe blog became food and resto review blog, hahaha…

        • drunk ninja
          November 13, 2013

          you should take the opportunity to come yo vancouver, you’ll blend in, everyone calls themselves foodie and take pics of food in restaurants!

          • Sam Han
            November 13, 2013

            hahaha, i am going to Kuala Lumpur tomorrow. I have been upgraded to a paparazzi now, lol… going to take pictures of the One Fighting Championship which i missed earlier this year in Jakarta. but i do hope to go to canada one day (the long flight is deterring me).

Leave a Reply

