May Contain Nuts

I cook clean yell at kids work clean repeat & I AM ALL ABOUT EFFICIENCY

Asari No Sakamushi – Sake Steamed Clams

I love all sorts of clams and shellfish especially little clams and big giant geoduck clams (sooo good when you dip the blanched thin slices in soy sauce and green onions).  I usually cook it in white wine, butter and garlic but it does take some prepping time to chop the garlic.  I was craving for clams that were sitting in the fridge and wanted something easy and quick so I steamed it in cooking sake and mirin.

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds of clams (manila or littleneck)
  • unsalted butter
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup cooking or regular sake
  • 1/4 cup mirin
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar (optional)
  • chopped green onions

IMG_8637

I assume that cooking sake has less alcohol content than regular drinking sake? Not really sure, but I used cooking sake because it was all I had.  The mirin adds the sweetness to the broth, I’ve used less than what most recipes ask for.

IMG_8632

Scrub the clams and let them sit in cold water for about 15 minutes so that they spit the sand out.  This step is very important because if you don’t do this, you will definitely taste/bite into sand.  Since I’ve done this – never had an issue with sand.  No chipped teeth!

IMG_8633

IMG_8634

Melt the butter in the pan and add the sake, water, mirin and rice vinegar (optional).  When the liquid boils, add the scrubbed clams to the pot and cover for 6-8 minutes or when all the clams are open.  Discard closed clams*. The broth is sweet enough that you can drink it (add more water when cooking if you want to drink it like a main soup).

IMG_8638

IMG_8639

* Confession – I actually eat most clams that are slightly opened (not the ones that are clam shut), I find those a bit more tasty and I like its texture of half cooked and raw.  I’m at risk for food poisoning and sometimes I pay for it on the toilet.  I never learn.

5 comments on “Asari No Sakamushi – Sake Steamed Clams

  1. Shelli@howsitgoingeh?
    September 27, 2013

    Although I love eating clams + mussels, for some reason I’m hesitant to cook them. But I am drooling looking at this post + will get over my fear!!! Yum!!!

    • drunk ninja
      September 28, 2013

      it’s so easy, the hardest part is waiting for the clams to spit sand. you can do it!

  2. Sam Han
    September 27, 2013

    I love clams and mussels too but please be careful about the “toilet breaks”, don’t take unnecessary risks. You’ve got 2 young ones! 😀

    • drunk ninja
      September 28, 2013

      that’s true, i find that i don’t have a strong iron tummy as i used to when i was younger. but the toilet breaks are like a cleansing system 😛 I’ll try to cook everything thoroughly since I don’t want to risk the little ones eating it.

  3. Pingback: Tasting Beer Without Actually Drinking Beer (plus The Best Tasting Clams Recipe) | May Contain Nuts

Leave a Reply

