May Contain Nuts

I cook clean yell at kids work clean repeat & I AM ALL ABOUT EFFICIENCY

Japanese Scallops Pasta

I’m not really a huge fan of bay scallops, but I like chinese cooking with dried scallops.  Recently, I found some Japanese scallops at a seafood store in Granville Island and bought some home.  They are tastier than bay scallops and it could be just because it’s fresh.  They are not cheap but cheaper than I expected, around $3 each.  So I won’t be eating this everyday and I know most of the weight is from the shell.  Still, these are pretty meaty that I would pay $3 for the meat as an occasional indulgence.

When I was younger, my parents used to order these when we eat out in Chinese seafood restaurants and it would be steamed in garlic, green onions and served with bean thread noodle.

I find it hard to look for recipes for shell-in scallops so I made it the same way I would with clams.  Steam in wine!

Ingredients:

  • Scallops with shell
  • Pasta (spaghetti / linguine /angel hair)
  • Butter, quarter of a stick, or whole!
  • White wine
  • Garlic, chopped
  • Mushrooms (button / brown / white / shimeji)
  • Chicken broth, half a can
  • Green onions and cilantro, chopped

Clean the scallop shells with a hard bristle brush since you will be steaming it in broth, you want to make sure that it’s clean.  Set aside and if you are not going to cook it right away, you can place it in the fridge covered with a wet towel.


I used Shimeji mushrooms for this dish.  It has an earthy flavour with a soft crunch.  It’s easy to wash and cut.  I cut about half an inch from the ends.  My mom didn’t like the aftertaste as she took the earthy flavour as bitterness but I think this worked well with the dish.

Saute a quarter of a stick of butter, chopped garlic and mushrooms together.  When the mushrooms are covered with the melted butter, add half a can of chicken stock.  Cook for another 3 minutes. Then add half a cup of white wine.

Once it’s boiling, add the clean scallops into the pot and close the lid.  Steam for 5-7 minutes. Overcooked scallops will taste rubbery especially around the meat (which it is my favourite part of the scallops).  The scallops should open up nicely and you can see which side of the shell the scallop is attached to.  Remove from the pot and break off the shell without the scallop.

The sauce can be used to pour on the cooked pasta, or the scallops alone.  If cooked properly, the scallops is very tender and naturally sweet.  I added lobster oil and tabasco sauce to the pasta for more kick.

Sprinkle chopped green onions and cilantro on the scallops.

4 comments on “Japanese Scallops Pasta

  1. Sam Han
    May 6, 2013

    i want some of that! 🙂

    • drunk ninja
      June 10, 2013

      It was good, but I think i could do without the woody mushrooms next time

  2. Shelli@howsitgoingeh?
    May 6, 2013

    Looking goooooood!!!!

Leave a Reply

