May Contain Nuts

I cook clean yell at kids work clean repeat & I AM ALL ABOUT EFFICIENCY

Quick Recipe – A Nutritional Boost

I feel like I’m coming down with something, feeling a little blah.  I need some comfort food to make myself feel better.  Five pieces of fried chicken and pizza for dinner did not help at all.  I needed my mom’s steamed milk.  No, not my mom’s milk.  My mom used to make me steamed milk and egg ever since I was a child as part of my nutritional breakfast.  Oh, how I used to envy my classmates who had Chef Boyardee while my mom made steamed milk and french toast for me.  ^_~ It also explains why I drink milk (and juices) from a bowl all my life and never found it odd until my friends cracked cat jokes about my habit!

This drink hits the spot when you’re craving something sweet and soupy and great when you’re feeling blah or pregnant.  I drank a lot of this (minus half the sugar I normally use) when I was pregnant.

Patch has never had it before, he’s not a fan of drinking milk but he’s willing to try it if I make it tonight.  It’s really simple and there are many variations to make this. 

Boiled Milk and Egg Drink

  • 2 cups of milk
  • 1 egg (I use one egg per 2 cups of milk)
  • white sugar to taste (you can use other kinds of sugar like brown, rock, etc except icing sugar)

Boil the milk at medium heat. Keep an eye on the milk as it can easily (and quietly) burn at the bottom. Crack an egg into the milk and stir it. You can keep the yolk intact or break it in the milk. Add sugar to taste.

As the milk starts to froth, turn off the heat and stir. If the milk looks like it will overflow, remove the pot from the heat element. Pour milk into a bowl (or mug if you’re like Patch) and enjoy. Who needs an expensive milk frother when milk+sugar+heat can do the same?

Any eggs would do but I like these free range eggs from Famous Foods for all the reasons listed on the box (veggie feed, local, etc). They are about $5 per box (dozen) but goes on sale occasionally.

7 comments on “Quick Recipe – A Nutritional Boost

  1. Shelli@How'sitgoingeh?
    April 19, 2013

    OMG this is what my mom used to make for me too!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing this – I had forgotten about this childhood memory!!!!!!

    • drunk ninja
      April 21, 2013

      would you consider this a japanese tradition?

      • Shelli@How'sitgoingeh?
        April 27, 2013

        Hey! I emailed my mom about this + she said that my grandma use to make it for her when she was a little girl in Japan! She said she loved this drink so much that she often pretended that she was sick so my grandma would make it for her! I guess it must be an Asian thing? I never knew!

  2. Sam Han
    April 20, 2013

    Ours is a simplified version of yours. My mom poured boiling water into a mug with condensed milk and then crack an egg into it. We stir and drink up, no boiling. Also, tried with milo drink before 😀

    • drunk ninja
      April 21, 2013

      I love milo! I used to drink condensed milk with hot water, but found that I need to add a lot to not get it taste watered down. But I might try that again with the egg part. I assume the water needs to be boiling and the chinese water boilers aren’t hot enough….?

      • Sam Han
        April 21, 2013

        If you like more cooked egg than yes boiling hot water. If you don’t mind more slurry eggs then airport water will do. Also depends on whether your eggs are from fridge or room temp. 😀

Leave a Reply

