May Contain Nuts

I cook clean yell at kids work clean repeat & I AM ALL ABOUT EFFICIENCY

Green Beans with Bean Curd

One of my favourite Chinese dishes to make is green beans with fermented bean curd.  Bean curd is not for everyone, I didn’t like it when I was younger because it smells rotten.  It still smells the same but when it’s cooked it’s quite tasty.  But you either love it or hate it.  It easy enough that it’s quick and you can easily change the ingredients to your tastes but green bean works best with bean curd because it’s hard enough so that the bean curd can easily coat it since it is salty.

Ingredients:

  • green beans
  • bean curd
  • chopped garlic
  • mushrooms (optional – can be substituted with other vegetables)
  • sugar

Bean curd pretty much overwhelms most of the taste so I kept it simple by not using my usual amounts of garlic.  Compared to my other recipes, it’s a small pile, eh?

This is a jar that I got from an asian supermarket.  It’s not hard to look for it but I only get bean curds that are made in Taiwan, Hong Kong, anywhere but China. It’s about a few dollars and a jar goes a long way.  It’s got a shelf life of 3 years but I think you can keep it forever… :P

A little bit goes a long way, when you scoop it out, you will notice te pungent smell.  They usually come in cubes and for about a pound of green beans, I used 4 cubes.   These cubes are soaked in bean curd water.  I don’t know if you’re supposed to use the bean curd water or if it’s meant to preserve the bean curd but I don’t normally like using the water that comes in the jar.

Heat the pan or wok in medium high heat with oil.  Toss in the green beans and then the chopped garlic.  Toss the green beans around until it’s lightly coated with oil.

Add in sliced mushrooms and 2 tablespoons of white sugar.  Bean curd can have a bitter aftertaste if you don’t add sugar.  Add about 5 tablespoons of water and close the lid to cook the beans for about 3 minutes.  I like my beans to have the crunch but if you like soft beans, leave it in for another 3 minutes.

Remove the lid and add the bean curd and toss with the green beans so that it’s melted.  Do not add salt, the bean curd is salty enough!

5 comments on “Green Beans with Bean Curd

  1. When Harry Met Celery
    November 30, 2012

    Looks lovely and easy to make. Thanks for sharing. I recently made a soup shot and would love to know what you think. Please drop by space when you have the time! See ya!

  2. sybaritica
    November 30, 2012

    I’m looking to find some fermented bean curd in my next travel to the south… how do you describe the taste?

    • drunk ninja
      December 1, 2012

      it’s salty, texture like medium firm tofu (smell and taste like ‘stinky tofu’), and very strong in smell… like something’s expired but not in a bad way. It does take some getting used to. When cooked and mixed with vegetables, the pungent scent is a lot milder.

  3. nostalgiceatery
    December 20, 2012

    yummmm, that looks really delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe:)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2012 by in Recipes My Way - Asian Style and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

